CAR-nival Anniversary Stages

Saturday 27th / Sunday 28th November 2021
It is with enormous disappointment that we have to advise that due to the very last minute withdrawal by the MoD of the permission to use Abingdon Airfield, this weekend’s Abingdon CAR-nival Anniversary Stages WILL NOT be taking place as planned.

Having now had the opportunity to fully assess the viability of running the Abingdon CAR-nival Anniversary Stages in 2 weeks’ time, it is apparent that whilst there is reasonable support from the previous entrants, the date change would result in the loss of too many Senior Officials.

As we hope you can appreciate, finding replacements for Clerks of the Course, Safety Officers, MS-UK Timekeepers, and numerous key officials is impossible at this late hour.

Therefore, I am afraid we are abandoning events at Abingdon for 2021 in favour of concentrating on the forthcoming Mini Tempest Rushmoor Stages on 28th December.

We are committed to returning to a ‘normal’ Abingdon Motorsport CAR-nival (Sprint, Rally and Autosolo) over the weekend of 11th / 12th June, which will feature its normal mix of good competition, social and camping.
We thank you for your support and all we can say is ‘We tried, and tried, and tried…’

Barry Guess – Event Director



100 cars contested the 7 tarmac stages over 70 miles which featured superfast straights, high-speed corners and blistering turns which all combined to make a fantastic day of motorsport.

Stamina, concentration and driving ability all added to a great days rallying at CAR-nival and those that emerge victorious are always worthy winners.

Simon Mauger took the winners spoils in his unusual  Lotus Exige ahead of a host of Subaru WRCs, Fiesta R5’s and  Mk2 Escorts, many of which have already added their names to the CAR-nival Winners Trophy.


Rally Abingdon 2020 Class     Rally Abingdon 2020 Entry     Rally Abingdon 2020 Overall

Rally Abingdon 2020 Stage Times     Rally Abingdon2020 Retirements

1997 Roger Binyon (Metro DAM4100) 2009 Steve Furzeland (Subaru WRC)
1998 Andy Blair (Escort Cosworth) 2010 Simon Mauger (Escort Mk II)
1999 Andy Blair (Escort Cosworth) 2011 Martyn England (Mitsubishi Evo 9)
2000 Mark Welch (Escort Cosworth) 2012 Simon Mauger (Escort Mk II)
2001 Tom Lambert (Darrian GT) 2013 Mark Straker (Darrian T90)
2002 Simon Mauger (Escort Cosworth) 2014 Steve Furzeland (Subaru WRC)
2003 Steve Furzeland (Metro 6R4) 2015 Steve Furzeland (Subaru WRC)
2004 Peter Lloyd (Subaru WRC) 2016 Steve Furzeland (Subaru WRC)
2005 Will Nicholls (Subaru WRC) 2017 Graeme Bell (Proton Satira Neo)
2006 Will Nicholls (Subaru WRC) 2018 Chris Woodhouse (Darrian GTR)
2007 Will Nicholls (Subaru WRC) 2019 Chris West (Peugeot 205 Maxi)
2008 Steve Furzeland (Subaru WRC) 2020 Simon Mauger (Lotus Exige)